The Adventure Begins

Hello. My name is Alasdair Lawrence and by nature I’m an extremely hesitant sort of chap.

Why do I tell you this? Because it’s taken me the better part of a day to sit down, create a blog and write these words you’re reading. Not, however, because I was planning out my big introduction with a script and research or anything as excusable. No – I was sitting in front of the screen. Staring. Waiting for some spark of divine genius to wash over me and provoke me to write the first 100 words that would secure me fame, success and a readership that would match the Bible. Faced with such fantasies rattling around my head it’s not surprising that any combination of words I could spill out onto the web felt insufficient for the task at hand.

And then I thought about my blog’s name. Pioneer of Pixels. It came from a witty little turn of phrase I made up one day long ago and it seemed fitting for an endevour such as a blog. But when I thought about it – it hit me. I wasn’t here to make millions or change the world. I’m a pioneer – an adventurer. I’m trailblazing into the unknown, both in the wide world and on the wide web. It’s a personal adventure. The places and things I’m “pioneering” have been done before. Thousands of times, too. But the point is that I’ve never done it before. I’m a pioneer of the personal, just as we all should be.

This is a blog. Blog, of course, comes from a funny old contraction of sorts. Originally it meant “Web Log” – a place where one could log their experiences. A diary for the whole world to read. So that’s what this is – I’m going to have as many adventures as I can and, at the end of the day, I’m going to sit down and say “Dear Diary…”

Here’s to good memories,

PioneerOfPixels

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Adventure Begins

  1. Sexmester says:

    I want to lick you

Leave a Reply

